Launch of Making Cities Resilient 2030 (MCR2030)

Online
Poster
Organizer(s)
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction - Office in Incheon for Northeast Asia and Global Education and Training Institute for Disaster Risk Reduction
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Japan International Cooperation Agency
Resilient Cities Network
United Cities and Local Governments
United Nations Human Settlements Programme - Headquarters
United Nations Office for Project Services
World Bank, the
World Council on City Data
Event language(s)
English

 

 

 

 

EVENT DATE, TIME, VENUE


Date: 28 October 2020 (Wednesday)

Time: 13:00-14:30 Hrs. (GVA/Bonn Time) 

07:00 Panama | 08:00 Toronto/Washington DC | 09:00 Brazil | 12:00 London | 13:00 Geneva/Bonn/Barcelona | 14:00 Cairo | 15:00 Nairobi | 19:00 Bangkok | 20:00 Singapore | 21:00 Incheon/Tokyo

Venue: Virtually, via Zoom- Registration: https://bit.ly/30lGunI

 

EVENT DESCRIPTION AND OUTCOMES


Most of the world’s population will be living in cities by 2050. Cities will be the frontlines to avoid the creation of new risk, reduce existing risk and strengthen resilience, including risks from health emergencies. Over the past ten years, the Making Cities Resilient Campaign has advocated the need for local government authorities to reduce risk and develop urban resilience. Over 4,350 cities demonstrate their commitment by joining. The Making Cities Resilient 2030 builds on the success and lessons learned of the previous decade of work under the Campaign. New partnerships and delivery mechanisms will be leveraged to focus gradually shift from advocacy to implementation support. 


MCR2030 will be a global partnership of actors with expertise in urban resilience, DRR, climate change and the SDGs.  It will provide a resilience roadmap for cities with defined commitments over time on how to improve local resilience.  MCR2030 will provide a suite of tools and knowledge guidance, from existing pool with partners that cities can use to better reduce risk and build resilience. It will promote regional networks of partners with strong links and implementation experience so that cities are connected into a movement that can support implementation of resilience measures. By 2030, MCR2030 aims to have increasing number of cities committed to reducing local disaster/climate risk and building resilience. 


This event is the launch of the MCR2030, with all core partners demonstrating support to this global partnership, for operation starting from January 2021.  


The event is organized as part of the Daring Cities 2020 event.  To register for Daring Cities 2020 events, please visit https://daringcities.org/register/

 

ORGANIZERS (MCR2030 Core Partners)

 

  • ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability
  • International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
  • Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
  • Resilient Cities Network
  • United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG)
  • United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT)
  • United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR)
  • United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)
  • The World Bank Group
  • World Council on City Data (WCCD)

 

EVENT LANGUAGE

 

English with simultaneous interpretation in Arabic and Spanish

 

SESSION AGENDA

 

Facilitated by Loretta Hieber Girardet, Chief, Supporting and Monitoring Sendai Framework Implementation Branch, UNDRR

 

  • Welcome and Opening
     

    • Gino Van Begin, Secretary General, ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
    • Mami Mizutori, Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG) for Disaster Risk Reduction and Head of UNDRR

 

  • Session 1: Journey of resilient cities

     

    • Keynote Speaker
      • HE Khürelsükh Ukhnaagiin, Prime Minister of Mongolia
         
    • Messages from local and national partners:
      • Emilio Jatón, Mayor of Santa Fe, Argentina
      • Mourade Dièye Guèye, Secretary General of the City of Dakar, Senegal
      • Kathryn Oldham, Chief Resilience Officer, Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA), UK
      • Mohammad Jaljouli, the Executive Council of Dubai, UAE
      • Samira Mohammad ALRais, the Executive Council of Dubai, UAE
      • Cemal BAŞ, Councillor of Keçiören Municipality and representative of Union of Turkish Municipalities

 

  • Session 2: MCR2030: A global partnership for local risk reduction and resilience

     

    • Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director, UN-Habitat
    • Patricia McCarney, President and CEO, World Council on City Data (WCCD)
    • Lauren Sorkin, Executive Director, Resilient Cities Network
    • Sameh Wahba, Global Director for the World Bank's Urban, Disaster Risk Management, Resilience and Land Global Practice, The World Bank Group
    • Tiziana Bonzon, Manager, Climate, Migration and Resilience, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
    • Kozo Nagami, Deputy Director General, and Group Director for Disaster Risk Reduction Group Global Environment Department, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
    • Steve Crosskey, Deputy Director Infrastructure and Project Management Group, United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPs)
    • Emilia Saiz, Secretary General, United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG)

 

  • Official Launch of MCR2030 & Closing
     

    - A call for partners and cities to join via the MCR2030 website

MCR2030 website

 


     

 

Disclaimer:
For the purpose of this event, UNDRR procures the services of Zoom Video Communications, Inc., an external service provider. Registration for this webinar is supported by the Zoom registration mechanism and does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the United Nations and MCR2030 Core Partners concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities.

By registering, you consent for UNDRR and all MCR2030 Core Partners to capture your information for communication purposes.

 

MCR2030 Core Partners Logo

 

Share this