2023 WIN DRR Leadership Awards nomination

Source(s): Women's International Network for Disaster Risk Reduction (WIN DRR)
WIN DRR Leadership Awards 2023

The nominations for the 2023 Women International Network for Disaster Risk Reduction (WIN DRR) Leadership Awards are now open! Nominate yourself or others, by 4 August 2023, for:

  • The Rising Star Award (US$ 7,500): Granted to an individual woman who has demonstrated leadership potential early in her career. 
  • The Excellence Award (US$ 10,000): Proudly sponsored by SM Prime Holdings Inc. and granted to an individual woman who has achieved exceptional professional success in disaster risk reduction.


The WIN DRR Leadership Awards recognise women's achievements in disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. The awards are part of UNDRR's flagship women's leadership initiative, WIN DRR, supported by Australian Aid. 

WIN DRR is a professional network to support women working in disaster risk reduction and is open to all, to join please complete this form

The 2023 WIN DRR Leadership Awards will be presented on the International Day for Disaster Risk Reduction, 13 October 2023, in Manila, the Philippines.


Nominations are encouraged from across the WIN DRR network and the broader DRR community. Individuals can nominate themselves or others by completing the below form before the 28 July 2023. Nominees must identify as women and be citizens/permanent residents of Asia-Pacific countries, who are working on disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. For the purposes of this award those countries include: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

People who are currently or who have previously worked as UNDRR or DFAT staff in the past are not eligible for the awards, though they are able to nominate others. People who are currently contracted with UNDRR in any capacity (e.g. as an intern, consultant or UNV), and people who are working for organisations that are currently contracted or receiving a grant from UNDRR are also ineligible. 

If you have any questions regarding the awards, please contact mary.picard@un.org

Another big congratulations to the 2022 WIN DRR Leadership Award winners Dr. Esline Garaebiti and Dr. Homolata Borah! You can read more on all the 2022 Excellence Award finalists here and the Rising Star Award finalists here.

Make your nominations here

Explore further

Themes Gender
Country and region Asia Oceania
Share this

Also featured on

Is this page useful?

Yes No
Report an issue on this page

Thank you. If you have 2 minutes, we would benefit from additional feedback (link opens in a new window).