2003 UN Sasakawa Award recognizes global efforts in disaster reduction

Source(s): United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

Ms. Esther Tadzong of the Global Centre for Compliance, Hazard and Disaster Management in Cameroon is the 2003 UN Sasakawa Laureate for Disaster Reduction for her efforts in raising awareness and promoting community involvement in preparing for imminent disasters.

Along with six recipients of Certificates of Distinction and Merit, Ms. Tadzong is the sixteenth laureate of the prestigious UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction. The total value of the Award is US $50,000, shared between the Laureate and the Certificate recipients. In addition to the financial prize, the Laureate is presented with the UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction crystal trophy, to be presented at the Award Ceremony on 16 October at the Second International Conference on Early Warning to be held in Bonn, Germany.

‘Each year, we receive an increasing number of nominations for the UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction that indicates the commitment to and raised profile of disaster reduction among the international community,’ said Sálvano Briceño, Director of the Inter-Agency Secretariat of the International Strategy for Disaster Reduction, who administers the Award.

‘The Award provides a unique opportunity to share experiences and highlight good practices in disaster reduction, promoting global commitment to reducing risk and vulnerability to disasters.’

Certificates of Distinction were awarded to the Fundación para la Prevención del Riesgo Sísmico of Venezuela; Mr. Meda Gurudutt Prasad of the Coastal Area Disaster Mitigation Efforts of India; and Mr. Rafi Ahmad of the University of the West Indies, Jamaica. Certificates of Merit were awarded to Association Prévention 2000 of France; the Gujurat State Disaster Management Authority of India; and Dr. Jean-Pierre Massué of the Council of Europe, France.

Together with the WHO Sasakawa Health Prize and the UNEP Sasakawa Environment Prize, the UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction is one of three prestigious prizes established in 1986 by the Nippon Foundation. The Award is agreed upon by the UN Sasakawa Jury, composed of representatives from five continents.

Also featured on
Share this

Is this page useful?

Yes No Report an issue on this page

Thank you. If you have 2 minutes, we would benefit from additional feedback (link opens in a new window).