UNDRR GETI & ICLEI Webinar: Applying the principles of resilience building and DRR for the unexpected

Online
webinar poster
Organizer
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction - Office in Incheon for Northeast Asia and Global Education and Training Institute for Disaster Risk Reduction
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
Event language(s)
English

Background

The COVID-19 crisis has been a lesson for many cities about planning for the unexpected. Adding to climate and man-made disasters, the pandemic has put high stress in urban systems around the world. Only in the past 6 months, Australian cities have dealt with multiple disasters, from wildfires, flooding, and the recent Coronavirus pandemic. This webinar will address the principles of resilience building and DRR for unexpected crises and disasters in cascade.

 

Date and Time:

  • 13 May 2020
  • 07:00 CEST / 14:00 KST / 15:00 AEST

 

Moderator:

Sanjaya Bhatia, Head of Office, UNDRR GETI

 

Speakers:

  • Sioux Campbell, Acting Local Disaster Coordinator, Cairns Regional Council, Queensland, Australia
  • Pauline Koritsa, General Manager Business and Community Services, City of West Torrens, South Australia
  • Stuart McConnell, General Manager Bushfire Recovery, East Gippsland Shire Council, Victoria, Australia
  • Steve Gawler, Regional Director, ICLEI Oceania

 

Webinar Recording:

  

 

 logo

with funding support from:

logo

Share this