Understanding hazards: a scientific report on hazards definition for the Sendai Framework

Online
Image of tornado with event title text
Organizer
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
International Science Council
Event language(s)
English

The broad range and complex nature of hazards calls for a standardised fully-fledged characterization of hazards that serves as a basis for countries to assess and accordingly enhance their risk reduction policies and operational risk management practices.

Recognizing this challenge, in 2019, the International Science Council and the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) partnered up to launch an ambitious science project to identify the full scope of all hazards relevant to the Sendai Framework and the scientific definitions of these hazards.

The webinar will launch and present a detailed report including 6 targeted recommendations.

WHEN: 29 July 2020
08:00 (EDT/New York)
14:00 (CEST/Geneva),
19:00 (ICT/Bangkok)

SPEAKERS:

Heide Hackmann
Chief Executive Officer, International Science Council (ISC)

Mami Mizutori
Assistant Secretary-General, Special Representative for Disaster Risk Reduction, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR)

Virginia Murray
Head of Global Disaster Risk Reduction at Public Health England and Chair of the Sendai Framework Task Team

John Schneider
Global Earthquake Model Foundation

Aslam Perwaiz
Asian Disaster Preparedness Center

Nick Moody
Insurance Development Forum

Share this