Ask DRR Experts! Early Warning and Early Action for All

Online
Poster IDDRR 2022
Organizer(s)
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

Time

10:00 - 11:00 (Bangkok) | 11:00 - 12:00 (Manila) | 12:00 - 13:00 (Seoul) | 15:00 - 16:00 (Suva)

Objectives

  • To call for greater understanding and investment in expanding multi-hazard, end-to-end and people-centered early warning systems and early action for all.
  • To raise awareness and mobilize action around the urgency to achieve Target G of the Sendai Framework: “Substantially increase the availability of and access to multi-hazard early warning systems and disaster risk information and assessments to people by 2030.”
  • To provide students (14-19 years old) from international schools in Fiji, Korea and the Philippines with a good understanding of disaster risks they face and the existence of warning systems to act on in their communities for a more inclusive, resilient and equitable future.

Programme

Bangkok Time

10:00 - Opening by Marco Toscano-Rivalta, Chief, Regional Office for Asia-Pacific, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (Moderator)

10:05 - Speaker: Ben Churchill, Head, Regional Office for Asia and the South-West Pacific, World Meteorological Organization

10:15 - Speaker: Sainimili Tawake, Inclusive Development Advisor, Pacific Disability Forum

10:25 - Speaker: Gabrielle Emery, Head, Pacific Subregional Office, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

10:40 - Q&A

10:55 - Closing by Piper Yu, Student Representative, British School Manila, Philippines

Share this
Attachments
(347.49 KB/PDF)
Keywords
Themes
Country & Region